Cooking With The Undomestic Housewife

SImple but good recipes with a hint of fun facts and nutrition info.

When The Pineapple Became A Veggie. April 3, 2012

Filed under: chicken,cooking,easy,food,Fooooood!,health,lifestyle,recipe — Kristi bri @ 7:46 pm
Tags: , , ,

Pineapple, chicken and wild rice.

First off, let me apologize for the quality of this photo; yes it was taken in a tupperware, on it’s journey to becoming leftovers. I did not think to take a photo, because honestly, I didn’t think it would be all that great. But it was great, cheap and just so darn easy to make.  You do however, need a crockpot… and chicken…and a can of Pineapple…and a handful of wild rice… and something to do because you won’t have to spend your time making this; see the magical crackpot   –although it could be considered a ‘crack’pot as it’s so wonderful you just want to use it all the time. Maybe I will start calling it that!

Anyways, the magical CROCKpot does ALL the work! Even my husband can do this (especially when you forget and only remember on your way to work at 6:15am) and he did in fact do 96.8% of the work.

I don’t have any cute little discovery story for this one, I simply looked in my fridge and thought “chicken…again…hmmm..oh, I have a can of diced pineapple, which I cleverly picked up from the dollar store; making this meal cheap as chips, as the English would say! Then I remembered that I have the Crackpot.

But in this recipe, you have the perfect combination of protein and healthy carb. The pineapple is also filling and healthy (if you choose the right can– not the one filled with sugar, preservatives and possibly corn syrup.), read your labels.

OK, lets get down to it: It’s best to start this process in the morning, or noon.

Ingredients:

  • Chicken breast (2-4), or, if you’re like me and accidentally pick up chicken tenders, that’s fine too.
  • 1 Can of diced (or sliced will work too) Pineapple, including the JUICE– if you have fresh, that’s just as good– Ah*snob*em.
  • About 1 cup of water
  • 1 cup of rice (I used wild, but whatever you want is fine)
  • Cayenne pepper and S&P

Things you will need: 

  • A Crockpot aka. crackpot (or slowcooker)
  • A spoon
  • A can opener (if you can’t just tear the top off of your pineapple can)
  • a book, or drink, a job, or just some free time.

Directions:

  1. Put everything in the crackpot. I would add the rice 1/2 through or at least 2-3 hours before eating, but I don’t think it will hurt to have it in there for the 8-10 hours.
  2. Put the lid on.
  3. Plug in and Turn the crackpot on to LOW (if your starting it at 8am’ish; HIgh, if you’re starting it later, like noon, or want it for lunch)– now that I think of it, maybe not a good idea to start drinking at 8am–…or is it?  🙂
  4. At dinner time turn it of and scoop out your serving

When it’s finished, everything is perfectly sweet and savory and the pineapple no longer resembles a fruit–TRAITOR!! And goes perfectly with everything, all in the same bite.

Sprinkle with love and ENJOY!

XO

Kristi

**If you’re a reader of this blog, I apologize for the delay in my posts, I’m a horrible blogger. But Alas, I have been photographing more of my cooking and have 2-3 more recipes to come!!

 

2 Responses to “When The Pineapple Became A Veggie.”

  1. trialsinfood Says:

    Man I wished I had a crackpot! 😉

    • Kristi Says:

      I just got mine about a month ago for my b-day. It was love at first site!! especially when I found out you can make cheesecake in it!!! 😀


Leave a Reply

