Cooking With The Undomestic Housewife

SImple but good recipes with a hint of fun facts and nutrition info.

Bake and Shake- Lemon-Pepper Chicken and Caesar Salad September 13, 2010

Filed under: chicken,cooking,easy,food,health,recipe,salad — Kristi bri @ 4:20 pm
Tags: , , ,
lemon pepper chicken and caesar salad

lemon pepper chicken and caesar salad

If you’ve been following this blog, you know that I like healthy meals that are easy to make and either take no time at all, or ones that I don’t have to keep an eye on (because I’m not very good at that).
Now I know you’re asking “What? quick, easy and Healthy–and it’s not McDonalds?” YES! And this time I’m giving you an entire meal idea: Lemon-Pepper Chicken and Caesar Salad

Every once and awhile I will buy bagged salads. they’re easy, quick and perfect for two people (or more with less amounts). My husband likes Caesar, but the Mediterranean is also very scrumptious. And added bonus: you can shake-up all the ingredients in the bag and voila, dump out onto your plate already prepared.
I wouldn’t noooormally recommend Caesar because the cream dressing brings way too many extra calories to the table. But ce-la-vie (I don’t speak french, so sorry if that’s not how it’s spelled).

Obviously these two items together is just a suggestion; I’m not saying “You MUST have Caesar Salad with this chicken.” Have rice if you want, or cake even. I won’t judge.

The chicken however turned out a lot better than I expected and we will be using this recipe over and over– It was just too easy:

Ingredients: serves 2 people

  • Chicken: I accidentally bought pre-cut strips which worked out perfect, but about 2-3 Breasts (cut into strips–or not) would                     do fine.
  • 1-2 Tbsp Lemon-Pepper: It’s in the spice section of the supermarket. If you don’t have this, or don’t want to buy it (which I suggest you do because it goes great with everything) use Lemon Zest and pepper. If you Don’t have lemons, try and pick another recipe.
  • Tsp Salt (and more pepper if the Lemon-Pepper isn’t enough)
  • Tsp Chili Flakes (optional)
  • 2-3 Tbsp Parmesan Cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to about 350.
  2. Take your Pre-cut/self-cut  (or not) chicken and sprinkle on your Lemon-Pepper (or zest), Salt, chili flakes and Parmesan cheese. I gave amounts of these as a suggestion, but it’s totally up to you how much you would like on here, but remember: too much salt is No Bueno for your body. Sprinkle both sides with these ingredients.
  3. Place the chicken on your baking pan of choice. I use one that has a rack within a pan, that way any fats etc. can drip/fall off–there’s not much fat to these, but if you do have a pan like mine, it keeps the bottom of the chicken from getting soggy.
  4. Put in the oven for about 20 min. I will sometimes go about 10 min, then when it’s getting close to done, I’ll flip the chicken and switch the oven to Broil (but I live on a boat and this is the oven I have to deal with).
  5. This is about the time  to shake your salad up–open the bag and add the ingredients first tho.
  6. When the chicken is cooked all the way through (ie. no pink in the middle), sprinkle with love and enjoy.

ps. yes, it’s that easy.

Xo

Kristi

 

Leave a Reply

