Cooking With The Undomestic Housewife

SImple but good recipes with a hint of fun facts and nutrition info.

It’s a Stufffed-a Meat-a-balll! June 28, 2010

Filed under: food — Kristi bri @ 7:08 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

This recipe started out as a ‘stuffed hamburger’ recipe for a party we had when we were in the Bahamas. We were hosting a barbecue meet and greet for the the other boats in the port we were at. I had to prepare a few things (since the chef was away) for over 20 people. I wanted to make something easy and plain, but a staple: Hamburgers. But with a twist: I found a recipe for stuffed burgers, and TOTALLY went and made them my own; adding way more stuff than I probably should have. I also wanted to make ones that wouldn’t need many accouterments and could taste good without alot of extras. I’ll put the variation at the bottom of this blog since this one is meatball specific. Now, anytime I make some form of a ground beef/turkey patty, it must be stuffed!

I realize this Blog has sort of gotten off topic of the healthiness I promised. But I will get back to that later. I have a Garden Salad recipe coming up soon anyways…

I like these meatballs because they don’t have to be eaten with spaghetti or even tomato sauce– or they can… I only had half a package of beef left from the lasagna when making these, so I wanted to make them bite-sized, which would be good with pasta for Adam but I ate them beside a salad so that I wouldn’t feel too guilty.

Enjoy.

Stuffed Meatballs: 1/2 a package of ground beef/turkey serves about 2-3 giving about 3+ each.

Ingredients:

  • Ground Beef (enough for yourself/guests)
  • 3/4+ a cup of bread crumbs– These can be made without bread crumbs too. I added them for more ingredients to make more.
  • Diced onion
  • Minced Garlic
  • 1 Egg– ***Egg is what binds everything together and holds it together when you go to eat it– this goes for baking too. If ever you don’t have an egg, use a banana–if you have it. Probably only a good idea for baking though, I don’t think it would taste very well in this recipe.
  • 1/2 cup of BBQ sauce
  • A couple/few Tbsp of Worcestershire  &/ steak sauce
  • S&P
  • Chili pepper flakes &/ diced jalepeno.
  • Cheese of choice. I used smoked gouda, but it was a little overbearing. I think a Jalepeno jack cheddar would be good.

You can cook this on a grill or in the oven. I used the oven just because we’re on the boat and it’s alot of work to get the grill out.

  1. Preheat the oven to about 340 degrees.
  2. Chop your onion and mince your garlic (unless you have the pre-packaged minced garlic– which I totally think is the best thing since sliced bread)
  3. Slice your cheese in to about 1 inch/1 inch peices (this is to your discretion, they can be bigger if you want, I won’t tell)
  4. Put your (hopefully unfrozen) ground meat in a bowl
  5. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well
  6. Grab about a tbsp size ball out and form it into a disc. With your thumb make a little indent for the cheese, or just put the cheese in the middle and press.
  7. Fold a bit of the edge up around the cheese then grab a tiny bit more meat mix to put on the top. Make sure it’s all sealed up good so no cheese seeps out. You must keep the cheese contained! 🙂
  8. I use a pan/dish that has a grate so any oils or fat can drip off.
  9. Once you’ve finished making all the balls, and they’re all in the pan, wash your hands! Put the dish in the oven (or the meatballs on the grill).
  10. Once they were pretty brown on the top and look fairly cooked I flipped them over and finished them off by broiling.

Like I said, you can serve these with sauce and pasta, or by themselves. ORRRR, with a bun like below:

For the Hamburger version, add the following meat mix:

  • Diced red and green Pepper
  • Jalepeno chopped
  • If you’re really going for unhealthy: Bacon bits
  1. Make them slightly larger and flatter, with more cheese if you wish
  2. Grill/ BBQ these for sure!

Sprinkle with love and enjoy!

Xo

Kristi

 

Leave a Reply

